Far from a Fair-y Tale

13 Oct

ou 63, Texas 21

Oct. 13, 2012 • Cotton Bowl, State Fair of Texas

As the kids would say, “Oh. Em. Gee.”

What else can you say about a game that’s over in the first quarter, a catastrophe that results in not just a loss but also complete exposure of ineptitude? We were outcoached, outmanned, outplayed. (If I were a headline writer, I’d oh-so-cleverly capitalize the “ou” in each of those words, but I don’t capitalize “ou.” So there.) To add insult to injury—make that INJURY to injury—our star quarterback broke his left wrist before all was said and done. He’s out for at least one game.

This was not the game we thought we’d see when we pulled into the State Fair parking lot bright and early Saturday morning, our stomachs ready for corny dogs and our minds set on VICTORY. Although I was concerned our D would give up lots of points, I really thought our offense would be able to more than make up the difference. I thought our stud running backs would open up the passing game so we could amass yardage on the ground and in the air.

That’s what I get for thinking.

Speaking of “stinkin’ thinkin’,” I had a vision for how this week’s “Spell Texas” would go: I would find items around the fair that looked like the letters in Texas and put them together, all artistic-like. Riiiiiight. The result wasn’t quite what I’d hoped, but hey, you’ve got to try something new now and then, right? (Certainly would’ve been nice to try something new in our offensive plays, that’s for sure. Sideline passes and 5-yard routes on 3rd and 9? What, was this Iowa’s bye week? I would’ve sworn Greg Davis was back in that press box.)

For a more thorough review of what this loss means for us Horns, check out this great commentary from Barking Carnival. (Well, I hate to use the word “great” for anything related to this game, but anyway…)

It certainly seems like it’s time for a massive culture change at Texas. It may be time to give up my role as a Mack Brown apologist. I love Mack, but for goodness’ sake, I can’t stomach seeing so much talent wasted year after year. As the BC writer said, that second national championship is never going to happen if we stay the course. The ship is sinking. (Or should I be punny and say ’ship?)

I don’t have the answers, but this I know:

  • David Ash is a stud. Even in this loss, it’s easy to see he’s a great QB in spite of poor play-calling and a weak O-line. But what really got to me Saturday was when he left the field with a fractured wrist. Before I even knew he was injured, I heard the boos, a loud chorus from the ou side of the stadium. Then I noticed one of our guys walking past those fans with his Horns held high. The whole way to the tunnel, he hooked ’em. Only after he turned to go up the tunnel ramp did I realize that was Ash. Again, what a stud.
  • There’s nothing like seeing a player carted off the field to put things into perspective. We couldn’t see what was going on with our DT Brandon Moore, but the texts and tweets said he was motionless on the field before the trainers got him on a backboard and into an ambulance.  Scary stuff. By the time the game was over, we got word that he was moving his arms.
  • Fletcher’s corny dogs rock.
  • Shiner rocks, too. Especially when it comes in a wax cup.
  • I know he’s a steer, but Bevo is the man. Our mascot is just a thing of beauty. When the ou players first entered the field and took a knee in our endzone, Bevo promptly turned his back. Good call, dude.
  • I love my Longhorns, and I will support my team forever and ever. Several have asked if I stayed for the whole game. Well, DUH. The only way I’m leaving before “The Eyes” are sung at game’s end is on a stretcher.

I also know the answer to this question: Does ou still suck?

Even though there’s much about this game I’d like to forget, here are a few images from the day, including butter statues, a Lego Dirk Nowitzki and Yoda, the breakfast of champions, and more:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Leave a Reply

